Why Does It Hurt So Bad?

I still remember the day we first met, you were crying over a love that has just ended, I was very sure that you loved Ysh so much and it may take you a while to move on but nevertheless I took the plunge and dated you. We became an item after a couple of movie dates and dinner dates. I loved you unconditionally from the very start, like I had expected, you were still in love with Ysh, I remember each stories you tell me of him, how smart he is, how eccentric he is, the relationship you had with him and how much you’ve hurt because he left you. I just listened… though hurting inside, I tried to be the consoling friend you were yearning for while you try to move on, enduring you’re insensitive banters that compares me to Ysh. I love you unconditionally even back then, I’m sorry if you never felt it. Sometimes love doesn’t need to hold your hands, because sometimes the person loving you needs to hold his own heart, so it won’t feel the pain of loving you too much.

Though i wasn’t financially stable to actually be in a relationship back then, I did try my best to make you feel important. You have been so generous when we go out and I have always been grateful for that but what I lack in the financial department, I try to compensate in time. You were my priority back then, not my studies, not my family, not my friends and not even myself, it was always you. I remember not attending my classes so I could assist you for your final demo, I was there the night before to help you finish your material, I was there on your demo, to take pictures and to take care of the foods. I also skipped school, so I could watch your mom in the hospital, because you were working already and you couldn’t make absences yet…and all those times that you wanted to go out for a movie or what-not’s, I was always there. I’m not blaming you for whatever happened to my life. I just wanted you to know back then, how much I love you, how I could stop living my life, so you’ll have me near you.

We’ve been together for six years now and it’s not the first time you’ve been unfaithful. I remember Toi, your ex who used to send you money or what-have-yous from abroad, you told me it was just because he asked you to look after his kids here in the Philly, i never heard of those kids. really. Those pictures on your MP4, your G4m accounts I accidentally uncovered, Noel and all the others things I tried to forget, I let it all pass, assumed the role of a marytr lover just so you know, how unconditional my love is. So sad… you haven’t felt it.

Why does it hurt so bad? because for the longest time, I tried to perfect for you. because you’ll never be exclusively mine, the moon will always reminds you of Ysh, no matter how beautifully it shines when were together. PS won’t be ours, it will always remind me of Noel, Makati isn’t ours, PNU isn’t ours, your home isn’t ours. because you say you never felt that I love you. because if I haven’t caught you, you’d still be cheating. because after all that’s said and done you haven’t changed.